This guide contains information primarily for the access of journals, newsletters, newspapers, and magazines.
Last Updated: Feb 2, 2016
Monday- Thursday: 8 AM to Midnight
Friday- 8 AM to 7 PM
Saturday- 1 PM to 7 PM
Sunday- 2 PM to Midnight
Contact local radio stations such as FM 93.1 or FM 99.5 as well as local television channel 2 or KAIT, for information about college closings because of inclement weather.
The Mabee-Simpson Library
2300 Highland Road
Batesville, AR 72501
If you see that, do this. Log into RDS (Remote Desktop Services) and open a browser. Now try searching the databases. Lyonnet contains the RDS link under Web Tools. Read the tutorial about RDS connections for computers for more information. Confused? Call support at 870-307-7555 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday - Friday or Email support. You will see the request for user id and password if you are off campus.
For those of you searching databases on your phone use these links to apps that make searching easier.
- ACS Mobile
Available in Android or Apple.
- ArtStor Mobile
ARTstor is now accessible to registered users and users who are on-site at their licensed institution on compatible mobile operating systems.
JSTOR doesn't have an APP, but has optimized the website for mobile use.
Register first with nature.com.
View the gallery of free APPs.
To read the full text of these articles you must e-mail yourself a link to the full text. Please note that in order to access the full text articles, you either must be at an institution with a site license that includes permissions to the content you are trying to read, or you must have an individual subscription to Science Journal.
Register and create an account in ScienceDirect before downloading this APP.
- SIRS Issues Researcher
This contains background and analysis on 350+ leading issues, providing pros and cons on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues.
- Topic Search
This database allows researchers to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
- Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite provides multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed and full-text academic journals supporting scholarly research.
Features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- Project Muse
Provides humanities and social science content from over 120 university presses and scholarly societies.
- Science Direct
Comprises over 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and archives abstracts from 1823 to 1995 for certain titles.
Archives over 1,400 scholarly journals, as well as conference proceedings and primary source materials. Material covered is from the beginning of the magazine until 5 years ago.
Access primary source material such as case law, statutes and regulations or dive into secondary source materials such as legal news or law reviews for background or analysis of a legal topic is also included. Validation for case law research supported with Shepard’s Citations for the Supreme Court.
- New York Times
From June 01, 1980 through current; the Final New York City Edition (full text); From January 1, 1969 - May 31, 1980(abstracts); Also includes The New York Times on the Web online articles; TOPNWS: most recent two weeks
- The New York Times Historical
Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and coverage of politics, society and events from 1851 to 2009.
- Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 45 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text for more than 315 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
- The Wall Street Journal
Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and coverage of politics, society, and events from 1984 to the present.
- The Wall Street Journal Historical
Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and coverage of politics, society, and events from 1889 to 1995.
- Credo Reference
Contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, crossword solvers, and measurement conversions.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Contains 600,000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1,000 years of English.
- Oxford Reference
Provides quality, up-to-date reference material from over 6 million entries.