Skip to main content

About the Library: Assessment

This guide contains the nuts and bolts information about our library. Here is where you find out about our policies, assessment, history, and view the appropriate links for even more information.

Assessing The Mabee-Simpson Library

Image of College Seal in Lyon Building Rotunda

"Lyon College engages in a comprehensive, systematic, and regular process of assessment to ensure the offering of curricular and co-curricular programs and support services of superior quality in a personalized setting."  This is from the college's assessment page and accordingly, the library follows suit.

Posted below are annual surveys of students and faculty and staff that assess the library's effectiveness in providing quality resources and services.  This is by all means not the only assessment method the library uses, but this one is easy to view and understand at a glance.

Mission Statement

In support of Lyon College‘s educational mission, the Mabee-Simpson Library provides convenient access to quality print and electronic resources and instructional services that foster individual and collaborative learning, and research, through a well-designed website and a comfortable, modern facility.

Freshman/Sophomore Survey 2019

A big thank you goes to all the staff at Lyon who pushed this survey to our students via the Lyon College app and  the Lyon newsletter.  Thanks to the 122 students who participated and we know Shelby is happy because she won the drawing for 100 dollars.  Every year the library surveys target groups consisting of Freshman/Sophomore, Junior/Senior, and finally Faculty.  The results are used to to find out what improvements need to be made in the physical  and digital library.

Other Fun Polls

Library Hours 2020

  • Our virtual library is always open!  However, the physical bricks and mortar library is locked and can only be entered with permission from student life.  You must be on our list.  We are open 8 to 5 Monday thru Friday and closed weekends,.
  • Visitors from off-campus are not allowed but research consultations and appointments can be made by calling 870-307-7205.
  • Contact us at:  askthelibrarian@lyon.edu anytime!

Covid Polices

  • Interlibrary Loan. For any items that we do not own, but you need for research, please fill out the ILL Request form that you see in the WorldCat search result for the item. Or email ill@lyon.edu with the bibliographic information on the item. Physical copies of books can be acquired for local faculty, staff and students. Only digital copies of articles can be acquired for non-locals. If retrieving a physical ILL item, we will allow your entrance to Anna’s office. Please return physical items to the book return in the breezeway.

  • Curbside pickup.  We are implementing curbside pickup and books can be ordered for pickup at askthelibrarian@lyon.edu.  We’ll notify you when they are on the cart which will be rolled into the breezeway.  They will already be checked out in your name and all you have to do is pick them up!

  • Returned books should be returned in the wall slot which is also in the breezeway entrance on the right when facing the library.

  • Use WorldCat Discovery to find most of what you'll need for your research needs.  It's the search box in the upper left corner!  If that doesn't work, try the A-Z blue box.

  • Reserves.  Because of Covid the reserve collection has been disbanded for this academic year.  Please check with the librarians if you need to order an ebook or streaming media.  Additionally,  documents can be scanned and links loaded into Schoology.

  • All study rooms on the third floor are locked and a key can be checked out at the front desk to use a study rooms.  Your ID card must be submitted to check out a key.  This is only for students with permission from student life to use the library.
  • All returned items will be in quarantine for 96 hours (4 days).

Ask The Librarian

 

 

       

Updated 08-05-2020

2300 Highland Road
Batesville, AR  72501

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, Lyon College faculty, staff, and students please use your Lyon user ID of: first.last@lyon.edu and your password to login.  You no longer have to use RDS to log in.  Find your browser, your web page, your database, search the database, and when the authentication screen pops up, use your student ID and password.  You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in?  Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at:  870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.

 

 

2300 HIGHLAND ROAD • BATESVILLE, ARKANSAS 72501 • PHONE: (870-307-7205) • FAX: (870) 307-7279