The Mabee-Simpson Library: History: Home

Welcome to the history subject guide!

You will find in this guide resources to help you with you history classes.

Useful Journals and Databases

JSTOR
Offers complete full-text articles in all subjects and ebooks as well. JSTOR uses a 5 year moving wall meaning that any article older than 5 years from today is full-text on JSTOR. Articles published within 5 years of today are only citation/abstract. All ebooks require no special app and are fully accessible on the web.

Archive.org
From the site: The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
From the site: free online access to Library of Congress digitized collections
Hathi Trust
From the site: home to millions of digitized books and publications.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

If you don't have a specific book in mind and just want to browse the relevant parts of the library collection by the call number. For instance, D stands for World History and E&F represent the History of the Americas. Check out this Library of Congress Classification resource to find your subject call numbers.

Use these call numbers or subject headings to find books on History in the library.

C - Auxiliary Sciences of History

C - Auxiliary Sciences of History (General)

CB - History of Civilization

CC - Archaeology

CD - Diplomatics, Archives, Seals

CE - Techinical Chronology, Calenar

CJ - Numismatics

CN - Inscriptions, Epigraphy

CR - Heraldry

CS - Genealogy

CT - Biography

D - World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Etc.

D - History (General)

DA - Great Britain

DAW - Central Europe

DB - Austria, Liechtenstein, Hungary, Czechoslovakia

DC - France, Andorra, Monaco

DD - Germany

DE - Greco-Roman World

DF - Greece

DG - Italy, Malta

DH - Low Countries, Benelux Countries

DJ - Netherlands (Holland)

DJK - Eastern Europe (General)

DK - Russia, Soviet Union, Former Soviet Republics, Poland

DL - Northern Europe, Scandinavia

DP - Spain, Portugal

DQ - Switzerland

DR - Balkan Peninsula

DS - Asia

DT - Africa

DU - Oceania (South Seas)

DX - Romanies

E-F - History of the Americas

E 11-143 - America

151-909 - United States

F 1-975 - United States local history

1001-1145.2 - British America (including Canada)

Dutch America

1170 - French America

1201-3799 - Latin America, Spanish America

Digital Media Librarian

Holger Mueller

He/Him

Email Me

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4PM to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.