Skip to main content

Art & Art History Resources on JSTOR: Home

About JSTOR

JSTOR is an online digital library of academic journals, ebooks, and primary sources. 

Primary Source Collections with Art & Art History Content

  • 19th Century British Pamphlets contains a variety of relevant materials  including exhibition listings, essays on conservation, tracts on aesthetics, museum guides, and auction catalogs. 

Search JSTOR for Articles and Ebooks in Art History

JSTOR Logo
Search in:
 

Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.

Or, browse all journals and ebooks on JSTOR in Art & Art History or related disciplines:

Architecture & Architectural History | Language & Literature | Music | Performing Arts

Journals and ebooks in Art & Art History

  • JSTOR includes more than 125 journal titles and hundreds of ebooks within the discipline of art & art history. 
  • The collection is strongest in the sub-disciplines of fine arts, Western art, Asian art, classical and ancient art, and Medieval and Renaissance art
  • A special highlight of the art content on JSTOR includes a group of rare American art periodicals from the early 20th century that includes the poems, designs, and art work from contemporaries such as Alfred Stieglitz, Katharine Rhoades, Francis Picabia, and William H. Bradley. 
  • The content includes titles from many of the leading societies (College Art Association, Society of Architectural Historians, Royal Society of the Arts, among others) as well as publications from museums and art library associations (Metropolitan Museum of  Art, MoMA, the British Museum, the Rijksmuseum). 
  • At this time, the majority of the content is from the United States, with international titles coming from the UK, Germany, and the Netherlands. 
  • A highlight of the ebook collection is the Royal Irish Academy’s five-volume set, Art and Architecture of IrelandFeaturing more than 3,000 images, these ebooks explore Ireland's artistic and architectural heritage from the early Middle Ages to the end of the 20th century.