The Mabee-Simpson Library: Anthropology: Home

Welcome to the Anthropology Course guide.

This guide is relatively new, so it's a bit of a work in progress, but please make use of the growing list of resources we've gathered so far.

The Library Catalog - Start Your Search Here!

WorldCat Logo WorldCat Discovery searches for books, media, and articles in our library and nationwide.

Try ADVANCED SEARCH for more options.

Click here for COURSE RESERVES.

Professional Organizations

The American Anthropological Association
From the site: Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association is the world’s largest scholarly and professional organization of anthropologists. The Association is dedicated to advancing human understanding and applying this understanding to the world’s most pressing problems.

Useful Databases

AnthroSource
Offers full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline.
JSTOR
Offers complete full-text articles in all subjects and ebooks as well. JSTOR uses a 5 year moving wall meaning that any article older than 5 years from today is full-text on JSTOR. Articles published within 5 years of today are only citation/abstract. All ebooks require no special app and are fully accessible on the web.
Journal of Field Archaeology
The Journal of Field Archaeology is published for professionals concerned with the interpretation of the archaeological record around the world. In addition to articles containing analyses of archaeological data from excavations, surveys, and laboratory research, the JFA publishes articles about archaeological heritage and ethics and the history of archaeology, technical and methodological studies, and book reviews.
Social Science Database
Provides information in all areas of social sciences including international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. It is a combination of full-text, abstracts, and contains current information.

This is just a short list, so be sure to check our full list of journals and databases, searchable by title and discipline, for more!

Useful Journals

Current Anthropology
Current Anthropology is a transnational journal devoted to research on humankind, encompassing the full range of anthropological scholarship on human cultures and on the human and other primate species.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

If you don't have a specific book in mind and just want to browse the relevant parts of the library collection, you can find books by subject by using the call numbers. For instance, GN stands for anthropology and GF stands for human ecology and anthropogeography. Check out this Library of Congress Classification resource to find your subject call numbers.

G - Geography (General), Atlases, Maps

GA - Mathematical Geography, Cartography

GB - Physical Geography

GC - Oceanography

GE - Environmental Sciences

GF - Human Ecology, Anthropogeography

GN - Anthropology

GR - Folklore

GT - Manners and Customs (General)

GV - Recreation, Leisure

Digital Media Librarian

Holger Mueller

He/Him

Email Me

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4PM to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.

Anthropology: Home