We strive to preserve and present the history of the area in which Lyon College is located.
Special collections include the John Quincy Wolf Folklore Collection, the Stroud Collection of historic papers, the Craig Genealogy Collection, the Folklore and Oral History Collections, the Presbyterian Collection, the Kennard Collection, and collections of rare books and historic photographs. The Regional Studies Center also serves as caretaker for the Grigsby House, a nineteenth-century cabin on the Lyon College campus.
The Sydenstricker Room contains historical material about Arkansas, this region, and Batesville. (Opens in a new tab.)
The Genealogy Collection of The Mabee-Simpson Library contains materials about genealogy including local and regional records. (Opens in a new tab.)
Special Collections are materials that are so fragile they are located in secured areas with special climate control. (Opens in a new tab.)
Sunday: 4PM to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed
When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.
Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.
Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.
If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.
