Skip to main content

Interlibrary Loan: Local Alternatives

This guide will show you how to borrow books and articles from other libraries.

 

Because of a mutual sharing agreement, Lyon College students can borrow books at other College and University libraries in this state.  Browse ArkLink's Libraries to see if there's something you can use within driving distance.  Pick up a library card at our front desk before you go.  You cannot login to their article databases from off-campus but most have a guest policy allowing you to search their databases in-house.

The Old Independence Regional Museum is a fabulous place to connect with local and regional history.  

The museum's Archival Research Wing contains a library of books pertaining to General Historical Information, Arkansas Resources, Civil War, Native Americans, and published Family Histories. Shelves are dedicated to books, transcriptions of public records, and historical journals from each of the twelve counties served by the museum. A public access computer, microfilm reader/printer, and video-viewing station provide important historical information. 

Independence County Public Library

The Independence County Library in downtown historic Batesville is another option.  Cards are free with a photo ID.  There are several special collections, especially in regional history and genealogy.

 

University of Arkansas Community College Batesville

In addition to Lyon College, students can also use the library at UACCB.  Because both libraries participate in a sharing program, students at Lyon can check out books at UACCB and vice versa.  Come to the front desk at Lyon and get an Arklink card before you go to check out items at the Row Johns Library.

Policies and Hours for Summer of 2020

*Like all classroom and education buildings on campus, the library is locked and can only be entered with permissions.  

However, staff is at the library from Monday thru Friday, 8 to 5. 

Closed Weekends.

Closed May 16 to 25, 2020

*Visitors are NOT ALLOWED in the library.  

*Lyon College students must be on Dean Mulick's list of permitted students for entry. 

*Contact Dean Mulick for permission to enter the library and he will then inform the appropriate offices and personnel of your approval to be on-campus. This notification is required for students who are regularly coming to campus to use buildings like the library.

*Call 870-307-7205 for assistance or visit our website at:  http://library.lyon.edu for more information.


2300 Highland Road

Batesville, AR  72501

Ask The Librarian

       

Updated 05-04-20

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, Lyon College faculty, staff, and students please use your Lyon user ID of: first.last@lyon.edu and your password to login.  You no longer have to use RDS to log in.  Find your browser, your web page, your database, search the database, and when the authentication screen pops up, use your student ID and password.  You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in?  Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at:  870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.

 

 

2300 HIGHLAND ROAD • BATESVILLE, ARKANSAS 72501 • PHONE: (870-307-7205) • FAX: (870) 307-7279