The Mabee-Simpson Library: Physics: Home

Databases

JSTOR Physics
Offers complete full-text articles in all subjects and ebooks as well. JSTOR uses a 5 year moving wall meaning that any article older than 5 years from today is full-text on JSTOR. Articles published within 5 years of today are only citation/abstract. All ebooks require no special app and are fully accessible on the web.
ScienceDirect - Physics
Comprises current and archived full-text and abstracts from V. 1, 1823 to the present for the Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, Social Sciences and Humanities, Behavioral Sciences, and the journal titles: Cell, Developmental Cell, and Molecular Cell. The title is misleading because it includes an extensive collection of Social Sciences including the Humanities.
Academic Search Elite/EBSCO
Designed to meet every academic researcher's needs in all disciplines, Academic Search Elite provides access to acclaimed full-text scholarly journals and magazines.

Take advantage of Open Access

What is Open Access?

For those who don't know Open Access, or OA, is a publishing model for scholarly works, like research articles, that makes them freely available online, removing paywalls and other access barriers.

A good way of know if something is OA or not is to look for the open lock logo: But this is not always the case.

For more info on OA and it's different levels, check out this guide from Johns Hopkins Welch Medical Library.

Physics (MDPI)
Physics is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal which presents latest researches on all aspects of physics. It publishes original research articles, review articles, communications with no restriction on the length of the papers. Physics is published quarterly online by MDPI.
New Journal of Physics
New Journal of Physics (NJP) publishes important new research of the highest scientific quality with significance across a broad readership. The journal is owned and run by scientific societies, with the selection of content and the peer review managed by a prestigious international board of scientists.
Royal Society Open Science
Royal Society Open Science is an open journal publishing high-quality original research on the basis of objective peer-review. The journal covers the entire range of science and mathematics and allows the Society to publish all the high-quality work it receives without the usual restrictions on scope, length or impact. Demonstrating its commitment to best practice in open access publishing, Royal Society Open Science has been awarded the DOAJ Seal.
CERN Open Data Portal
Experiments at CERN collect unique data at the frontiers of science using one-of-its-kind facilities and large-scale efforts with contributions from thousands of scientists. The data, which enables key insights into the nature of our world, represent a heritage of humanity, which CERN is dedicated to preserve, curate, steward and share with the public.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community. It is committed to ensuring quality content is openly available online for everyone.
SciPost
SciPost is a complete online scientific publication portal managed by the SciPost Foundation. Being managed by professional scientists, its Journals aim at the highest achievable editorial quality standards and provide freely, openly, globally and perpetually accessible science.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

If you don't have a specific book in mind and just want to browse the relevant parts of the library collection, you can find books by subject by using the call numbers. For instance, Q stands for Science (Genereal) and QH stands for Natural History - Biology. Check out this Library of Congress Classification resource to find your subject call numbers.

Q - Science (General)

QA - Mathematics

QB - Astronomy

QC - Physics

QD - Chemistry

QE - Geology

QH - Natural history - Biology

QK - Botany

QL - Zoology

QM - Human anatomy

QP - Physiology

QR - Microbiology

Digital Media Librarian

Holger Mueller

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

Mabee-Simpson Library
Office #203

870-307-7444

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4PM to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.