The Mabee-Simpson Library: Regional and Special Collections: Home

Welcome to the Mabee-Simpson Library regional and special collections.

We strive to preserve and present the history of the area in which Lyon College is located.

Special collections include the John Quincy Wolf Folklore Collection, the Stroud Collection of historic papers, the Craig Genealogy Collection, the Folklore and Oral History Collections, the Presbyterian Collection, the Kennard Collection, and collections of rare books and historic photographs. The Regional Studies Center also serves as caretaker for the Grigsby House, a nineteenth-century cabin on the Lyon College campus.

John Quincy Wolf Collection
This website contains documents, audio recordings, and other materials from the John Quincy Wolf Folklore Collection

Please be aware that some of the songs you will find in the John Quincy Wolf Collection may have titles or lyrics that contain offensive language, themes, and imagery. This content is neither endorsed nor condoned by either the Mabee-Simpson Library or Lyon College. This content is part of our country’s unfortunate past and is only made accessible out of a sense of keeping accurate historical information available to all.
Special Collections
This page lists many links to collections of regional or local appeal.
The Creation and Development of the Arkansas Folk Festival and the Ozark Folk Center: An Oral History Project
This page chronicles the genesis and early years of the Arkansas Folk Festival and the Ozark Folk Center, both located in Mountain View, Arkansas.
Architecture: An Arkansas Folk Tradition
This was originally a slide presentation by Dr. Diane Tebbetts written in 1980.
Additional Folk Songs
Since the Wolf Collection was first made available to the public, more folk songs have been contributed by people who saw the web page and wanted to add more songs or verses that they knew from relatives and friends. Here are their contributions, with our sincere appreciation for the effort they made to write them down and send them to us.

Order CDs From The Regional Studies Center

Regional Studies Order Form for CDs
Print this form and order CDs produced by the Regional Studies Center of The Mabee-Simpson Library.

The Sydenstricker Collection

The Sydenstricker Room contains historical material about Arkansas, this region, and Batesville. (Opens in a new tab.)

Genealogy

The Genealogy Collection of The Mabee-Simpson Library contains materials about genealogy including local and regional records. (Opens in a new tab.)

Special Collections

Special Collections are materials that are so fragile they are located in secured areas with special climate control. (Opens in a new tab.)

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4PM to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.