The Mabee-Simpson Library: Welcome to the Mabee-Simpson Library: Home

The Latest at the Library

Subject Guides

- Our collection of subject guides is growing, and filled with valuable resources for your studies.

How to Use the Printers in the Library

- Click here for our easy to follow guide to using our printers!

How to Use the TI-84 Plus CE Calculator

Here at the Mabee-Simpson library, we're friends to all academic disciplines. With that in mind, here's a little how to guide for the scientific calculators we have.

Here's the PDF for those of you who'd rather read the instructions.

Quick Links

Resources that can be helpful regardless of what courses you're taking!

Library Survival Guide
Feel better about using the library!

A-Z Databases
The A-Z database list is searchable by subject, type, vendor, popular, or new trials.
Academic Support
Get some help at the MAC.
Arkansas State Library
The Traveler Statewide Resources are a collection of digital resources provided by the Arkansas State Library to all Arkansas residents, schools, libraries and universities.
Citation Style Guides
Quick guides for some of the more popular citation styles for academic and scientific writing.
English Research Guide
This guide explores many different formats for finding, evaluating, and using information for research papers.
Journal Finder
Journal Finder allows you to see what titles the library owns in your subject field. It also provides an easy citation search.
Open Educational Resources
OER (Open Educational Resources) are "teaching and learning materials that you may freely use and reuse at no cost, and without needing to ask permission" (OER Commons). Most often, these are openly licensed materials, meaning their creators have allowed reuse of their works under some conditions. Follow the link for more information.
Streaming Media and eBooks
This guide provides tips, tools, and techniques for finding videos, creating clips and playlists, and linking to videos.
Tutorials
This link contains video tutorials about our library and how to navigate databases.
Harvard College Writing Center
Writing Guides, most free to view, from Harvard College.

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4PM to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.