Skip to main content

Children's Literature: Books

This LibGuide pinpoints sources for students studying children's literature.

Narrative Poetry

Finding narrative poetry for the early grades can be hard.  Here are some that we have in our library.  Notice that most are in the children's section, but some are located in the main stacks because they are also suitable for adults.  Look for JUV in the call number for the children's section, or STACKS for the general collection.

When searching in WorldCat Discovery, try keyword searches like: Juvenile AND Narrative Poetry, or Juvenile works and poetry

Lexiles!

Goodness! How to search?

Subject vs. Keyword

Sometimes using two subject searches is best.  Be careful with subject searches.  They are specific and can really narrow down your choices to zero if you aren't careful.  Keywords are great for finding the most.  However, look what happens when you combine these subject searches.  Some really great books pop up.  When searching for these, always use subject searches using the word Juvenile Literature or Juvenile Works or Juvenile Poetry.  Combine that with your search using keywords.  Here are some examples.

Subject: Juvenile literature and Keyword: lullabies

Subject: Juvenile literature and Keyword: poetry

 

Caldecott or Newbery Winners?

Everyone knows that the Caldecott winners reflect the best in children's illustrations!  A subject search for Caldecott and filtered books only, will give you most if not all the titles which are in our collection.

 

The Newbery winners are also in our collection and they represent the best of children's literature.  Subject:  Newberry

 

For international or diversity issues, try the name of the country, or person, or movement.

Subject: Juvenile literature and Keyword: Asia, or China, or Hmong, Harriet Tubman, civil rights, etc.

 

 

Looking at Specific Types of Books?

Subject: Picture books for children

Subject: Chapter books

Subject: Juvenile literature and Keyword: oversize

 

Genres?

Subject: Juvenile works and keyword: folk lore, or folk tales

Subject: Juvenile works and keyword: fairy tales.

Subject: Juvenile Literature and Subject: myths

Subject: Juvenile Literature and Subject: Science Fiction

Subject: Juvenile Literature and Subject: Fantasy

Subject: Juvenile Literature and Historical Fiction

Subject: Juvenile Fiction

Subject: Juvenile Non-fiction

Subject: Juvenile Historical Fiction

 

 

 

Hours, Social Media, Contact Information

Library Hours 2020

  • Our virtual library is always open!  However, the physical bricks and mortar library is locked and can only be entered with permission from student life.  You must be on our list.  We are open 8 to 5 Monday thru Friday and closed weekends,.
  • Visitors from off-campus are not allowed but research consultations and appointments can be made by calling 870-307-7205.
  • Contact us at:  askthelibrarian@lyon.edu anytime!

Covid Polices

  • Interlibrary Loan. For any items that we do not own, but you need for research, please fill out the ILL Request form that you see in the WorldCat search result for the item. Or email ill@lyon.edu with the bibliographic information on the item. Physical copies of books can be acquired for local faculty, staff and students. Only digital copies of articles can be acquired for non-locals. If retrieving a physical ILL item, we will allow your entrance to Anna’s office. Please return physical items to the book return in the breezeway.

  • Curbside pickup.  We are implementing curbside pickup and books can be ordered for pickup at askthelibrarian@lyon.edu.  We’ll notify you when they are on the cart which will be rolled into the breezeway.  They will already be checked out in your name and all you have to do is pick them up!

  • Returned books should be returned in the wall slot which is also in the breezeway entrance on the right when facing the library.

  • Use WorldCat Discovery to find most of what you'll need for your research needs.  It's the search box in the upper left corner!  If that doesn't work, try the A-Z blue box.

  • Reserves.  Because of Covid the reserve collection has been disbanded for this academic year.  Please check with the librarians if you need to order an ebook or streaming media.  Additionally,  documents can be scanned and links loaded into Schoology.

  • All study rooms on the third floor are locked and a key can be checked out at the front desk to use a study rooms.  Your ID card must be submitted to check out a key.  This is only for students with permission from student life to use the library.
  • All returned items will be in quarantine for 96 hours (4 days).

Ask The Librarian

 

 

       

Updated 08-05-2020

2300 Highland Road
Batesville, AR  72501

Proxy Authentication

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, Lyon College faculty, staff, and students please use your Lyon user ID of: first.last@lyon.edu and your password to login.  You no longer have to use RDS to log in.  Find your browser, your web page, your database, search the database, and when the authentication screen pops up, use your student ID and password.  You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in?  Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at:  870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.

Footer

 

 

2300 HIGHLAND ROAD • BATESVILLE, ARKANSAS 72501 • PHONE: (870-307-7205) • FAX: (870) 307-7279