Economics: Government Sources

• International Monetary Fund, Data & Statistics
• United Nations Development Policy and Analysis Division

  This division produces reports like the World Economic Situation and Prospects (WESP) & the World Economic and Social Survey (WESS).
• United National Economic Statistics
• World Bank: Open Data

• BEA: Regional Economic Accounts

  BEA (Bureau of Economic Analysis) provides a common set of economic statistics for every county, metropolitan statistical area, and state in the nation. Data includes employment and earnings by major industry, the derivation of personal income, the makeup of transfer payments, more.
• Arkansas Department of Labor Marketing

  Labor Market Information (LMI) is data which describes relationships between labor supply and demand using population, labor force, industry, occupation, projection, wage, and career data as well as general economic trends.

• Center for Business and Economic Research - University of Arkansas, Walton College

  Located in the Sam Walton College of Business,  the Center provides applied economic and business research to federal, state, and local government, as well as to businesses currently operating or those that desire to operate in the state of Arkansas. The Center further works to improve the economic opportunities of all Arkansans by conducting policy research in the public interest.

• Bureau of Economic Analysis

  BEA produces statistics about economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the nation’s position in the world economy.
• Bureau of Labor Statistics

  BLS is the fact-finding agency that provides labor information on a national and regional basis. Information about employment and unemployment, prices and living conditions, compensation and working conditions, productivity and technology.
• Census Bureau

  The Census Bureau provides statistics on nearly every subject, including basic demographics, housing, education, income, business characteristics, and more. The American FactFinder application & "Subjects A to Z" link are especially useful.
• Congressional Budget Office

  CBO forecasts cover 18 to 24 months and involve the major economic variables--gross domestic product (GDP), unemployment, inflation, and interest rates. Longer-term projections are based on trends in the labor force, productivity, and saving.
• Council of Economic Advisors

  Advisers to the President, the CEA produces periodic reports.
• Economic Data

  Weekly economic data from the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
• Economic Indicators.gov

  The site's mission is to provide timely access to the daily releases of key economic indicators from the BEA and Census Bureau.
• Export.gov
• Federal Reserve Board: Economic Research & Data
• Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)

  A database of over 15,000 U.S. economic time series
• Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

  A core economic information portal produced by the St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank
• SEC Filings & Forms (EDGAR)

  Filings from foreign and domestic companies
• Small Business Administration Office of Advocacy

  This office produces research reports and statistical information on small businesses.
• TradeStats Express

  Express national, regional, and state trade statistics

Semester Hours

Sunday:  4 p.m. to Midnight
Monday - Thursday:  7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday:  7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday:  Closed

Ask The Librarian

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in?  Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.