The Mabee-Simpson Library: Economics: Articles/News

The Library Catalog - Start Your Search Here!

WorldCat Logo WorldCat Discovery searches for books, media, and articles in our library and nationwide.

Try ADVANCED SEARCH for more options.

Journal Titles in Our Collection

Journal Titles in our Collection
Use this list to search for articles in our library catalog about politics or political science.

Explore these top databases for articles relating to economics. Each have their own specialization and collection of resources, so try several and if you need help finding something please reach out to one of your librarians.

Take Advantage of Open Access

What is Open Access?

For those who don't know Open Access, or OA, is a publishing model for scholarly works, like research articles, that makes them freely available online, removing paywalls and other access barriers.

A good way of know if something is OA or not is to look for the open lock logo: But this is not always the case.

For more info on OA and it's different levels, check out this guide from Johns Hopkins Welch Medical Library.

Journal for Labour Market Research
The Journal for Labour Market Research is a journal in the interdisciplinary field of labour market research. As of 2016 the Journal publishes open access. The journal follows international research standards and strives for international visibility. With its empirical and multidisciplinary orientation, the journal publishes papers in English language concerning the labour market, employment, education/training and careers.
Theoretical Economics
Theoretical Economics publishes leading research in economic theory. It is published by the Econometric Society four times a year, in January, May, July, and November. All content is freely available. It is included in the Social Sciences Citation Index.
Oxford Open Economics
Oxford Open Economics is a fully open access journal publishing research covering all areas of economics, including theoretical, empirical, applied and policy-oriented work, and extending from macroeconomics through microeconomics and all relevant fields. The journal welcomes interdisciplinary work which either utilizes economic methods and theories to a wider application, or which bridges across overlapping fields of work of relevance to economics. The journal will place an emphasis on objective assessment of submissions, ensuring that methodology is correct and findings are accurate, and placing less importance on subjective considerations such as importance and breadth of interest.
Journal of Applied Economics
Publishes research on applied issues in micro and macroeconomics, including industrial organization, labor economics, finance, growth and money and banking.
Economies (from MDPI)
Economies is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal on development economics and macroeconomics, published monthly online by MDPI.
Economics Open
Economics Open is a new fully peer-reviewed, open access, broad scope journal that publishes original research and review articles on all aspects of economics. The journal is editorially aligned with World Scientific’s collection of high-quality and leading economics journals which are considered essential content by top institutions globally.
The International Small Business Journal
The International Small Business Journal (ISBJ) is a leading peer reviewed journal that publishes the highest quality original research papers on small business and entrepreneurship. The emphasis of the journal is on high quality, research based studies which contribute to theory, critical understanding and policy formulation on small firms. (Hybrid journal, meaning not all articles are open access.)

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4PM to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.