The Mabee-Simpson Library: Art: Helpful Websites

Great Museum Libraries

Crystal Bridges Museum

Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art
Bentonville, Arkansas
St. Louis Art Museum
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution
Washington, D.C.
Art Institute of Chicago
Chicago
Metropolitan Museum of Art
New York City
Museum of Fine Arts
Boston
Museum of Modern Art
New York City
British Museum
London
The Louvre
Paris

Learning About Art

St. Louis Art Museum

Artsy
"Artsy’s mission is to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection. Our unique tools, editorial features, and world class collections make Artsy an ideal educational resource for students, educators, and anyone who wants to learn about art." -From the website
Center for Creative Photography (University of Arizona)
Founded in 1975 at the University of Arizona, this is the world's largest institution dedicated to the history of North American photography.
Getty Search Gateway
"Allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids." -From the website
Guggenheim Collection Online
"Featuring nearly 1700 artworks by more than 575 artists, the Collection Online presents a searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection of over 7,000 artworks." -From the website
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Sponsored by the renowned Metropolitan Museum of Art (NYC), this excellent resource contains world maps, timelines, thematic essays, and the ability to search by artist, works of art, and subject
National Gallery of Art Images
" A repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 45,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration."-From the website

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4 p.m. to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.