The Mabee-Simpson Library: Political Science: Government Sources

State and Local Information on the Web

Arkansas Department of Health Contains the latest about state statistics for Covid 19 and other Arkansas issues.
Arkansas Deparment of Corrections Contains policies and statistics of Arkansas Prisons as well as contact information.
Arkansas Department of Education This page contains contacts for all matters concerning public education in Arkansas.
Arkansas Food Bank Food for Kids Find out how you can feed the hungry in Arkansas, especially our kids.
Stone County
This website is a connection to local city and county government.
American Legislative Exchange Council The American Legislative Exchange Council is America’s largest nonpartisan, voluntary membership organization of state legislators dedicated to the principles of limited government, free markets and federalism.
Book of the States The Council of State Governments continues a long tradition of “sharing capitol ideas” with the publication of the 2016 edition of The Book of the States. Since 1933, CSG has served as a resource for state leaders and a catalyst for innovation and excellence in state governance. The Book of the States has been the reference tool of choice since 1935, providing relevant, accurate and timely information, answers and comparisons for all 56 states, commonwealths and territories of the United States.
Council of State Governments Specific products and services from CSG’s policy group are wide ranging: national and regional meetings, national policy task forces, state specific forums and training, national reports, fact sheets, interactive websites, interstate compact legislation, policy projects assisting states in the creation of policy, and numerous educational efforts tied to key issues.
Governing.com GOVERNING is the nation's leading media platform covering politics, policy and management for state and local government leaders. Recognized as the most credible and authoritative voice in its field, GOVERNING provides nonpartisan news, insight and analysis on such issues as public finance, transportation, economic development, health, energy, the environment and technology.
GovSpot.com GovSpot.com is a non-partisan government information portal designed to simplify the search for the best and most relevant government information online.
National Association of Counties The National Association of Counties (NACo) unites America’s 3,069 county governments. Founded in 1935, NACo brings county officials together to advocate with a collective voice on national policy, exchange ideas and build new leadership skills, pursue transformational county solutions, enrich the public’s understanding of county government, and exercise exemplary leadership in public service.
United States Census Bureau The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. We honor privacy, protect confidentiality, share our expertise globally, and conduct our work openly.

Polling

Gallup Poll Gallup delivers analytics and advice to help leaders and organizations solve their most pressing problems.
PEW Research Center Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
Polling Report An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.
RealClearPolitics RealClearPolitics (RCP) is a Chicago-based political news and polling data aggregator formed in 2000 by former options trader John McIntyre and former advertising agency account executive Tom Bevan. ... Politico founder Jim VandeHei has called the site "an essential stop for anyone interested in politics."

The Latest Covid Statistics

Covid Act Now
This is an independent organziation that tracks Covid. it provides fast and accurate statistics for the United States. It also includes statistics on the effects of Covid on the Native American Population.

Federal Information on the Web

Center for Disease Control and Prevention Federal site for public health and safety with extensive Covid statistics.
CIA Factbook The Factbook was first made available on the Internet in June 1997. The year 2019 marks the 72nd anniversary of the establishment of the Central Intelligence Agency and the 76th year of continuous basic intelligence support to the US Government by The World Factbook and its two predecessor programs.
Congressional Research Service The Congressional Research Service (CRS) works exclusively for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS has been a valued and respected resource on Capitol Hill for more than a century.
Core Documents of U. S. Democracy This collection provides American citizens with direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society. These titles contain information about the democratic process that are critical to informed citizens. They support the public's right to know about the essential activities of their Government.
Data USA Data USA, comprised of economists, data scientists, designers, researchers and business executives, worked for over a year with input from policymakers, government officials and everyday citizens to develop Data USA, the most comprehensive website and visualization engine of public US Government data.
ERIC ERIC is a widely searched education database used by millions of researchers, students, faculty, librarians, and others searching for education research. This database is primarily citation/abstract, but does contain some full text.
GovInfo.com govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
GovSpot.com GovSpot.com is a non-partisan government information portal designed to simplify the search for the best and most relevant government information online.
GPO: Government Printing Office Keeping America Informed as the official, digital, and secure source for producing, protecting, preserving, and distributing the official publications and information products of the Federal Government.
National Archives and Records The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
Policy Archive PolicyArchive is an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. It makes use of the power, efficiency, and economy of modern Internet technology to collect and disseminate summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.
U. S. Congress.gov Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information.
U.S. Embassies, Consulates, and Diplomatic Missions Websites of U.S. Embassies, Consulates, and Diplomatic Missions
U. S. Government Manuel A regularly updated special edition of the Federal Register, it includes leadership tables and describes agency activities and programs of the executive, judicial, and legislative branches of Government, as well as activities and programs of quasi-official agencies and international organizations in which the United States participates as a member.
U.S. House of Representatives Everything you wanted to know about the House of Representatives and more.
U.S. Senate Everthing you wanted to know about the U.S. Senate and more.
The Vietnam Center and Archive The Vietnam Center and Archive collects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supports and encourages research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experience.
The White House News room, top issues, administration, and history.

International Politics

European Union The European Union is a unique economic and political union between 28 European countries that together cover much of the continent.
European Union Data Portal The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) gives you access to open data published by EU institutions and bodies. All the data you can find via this catalogue are free to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
GovSpot.com GovSpot.com is a non-partisan government information portal designed to simplify the search for the best and most relevant government information online.
Hansard Online Hansard is a substantially verbatim report of what is said in Parliament of the United Kingdom. Members’ words are recorded and then edited to remove repetitions and obvious mistakes, albeit without taking away from the meaning. Hansard also sets out details of Divisions and reports decisions taken during a sitting.
U.S. Embassies, Consulates, and Diplomatic Missions Websites of U.S. Embassies, Consulates, and Diplomatic Missions
UNdata Access UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
United Nations The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.
World Trade Organization The WTO has many roles: it operates a global system of trade rules, it acts as a forum for negotiating trade agreements, its settles trade disputes between its members and it supports the needs of developing countries.

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4 p.m. to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.

Political Science: Government Sources