The Mabee-Simpson Library: Political Science: Articles/News

Databases to Search for Articles

The Latest News: Global, National, Regional Full-Text

How to use Newsbank Access World News

Make use of Open Access!

What is Open Access?

For those who don't know Open Access, or OA, is a publishing model for scholarly works, like research articles, that makes them freely available online, removing paywalls and other access barriers.

A good way of know if something is OA or not is the presence of the open lock logo: But this is not always the case.

For more info on OA and it's different levels, check out this guide from Johns Hopkins Welch Medical Library.

Ethics & Global Politics
Ethics & Global Politics is a peer reviewed international Open Access journal whose aim is to foster theoretical contributions to the study of ethics and global politics. It does not favour any philosophical perspective or political problem but emphasizes the importance of closing the gap between normative ethics and political theory, on the one hand, and contemporary political problems in the global domain, on the other.
American Journal of Political Science
The American Journal of Political Science (AJPS) publishes research in all major areas of political science including American politics, public policy, international relations, comparative politics, political methodology, and political theory. Founded in 1956, the AJPS publishes articles that make outstanding contributions to scholarly knowledge about notable theoretical concerns, puzzles or controversies in any subfield of political science. (Not all content is Open Access, but quite a bit is!)
Politics and Governance
Politics and Governance (ISSN: 2183-2463) is an international, peer-reviewed open access journal that publishes significant and cutting-edge research drawn from all areas of political science.
International Journal for Equity in Health
International Journal for Equity in Health presents evidence relevant to the search for, and attainment of, equity in health across and within countries. International Journal for Equity in Health publishes research which improves the understanding of issues that influence the distribution of health and healthcare within populations. This includes the discussion of political, policy-related, economic, social and health systems- and services-related influences, particularly with regard to identifying and understanding the systematic differences or the lived experiences of one or more aspects of health in population groups defined demographically, geographically, or socially.
Health and Human Rights
Health and Human Rights provides an inclusive forum for action-oriented dialogue among human rights practitioners and scholars. The journal endeavors to increase access to human rights knowledge in the health field by linking an expanded community of readers and contributors. Following the lead of a growing number of open access publications, the full text of Health and Human Rights is freely available to anyone with internet access.
Global Studies Quarterly
Global Studies Quarterly (GSQ) is the International Studies Association’s fully open access journal. The journal publishes original and innovative scholarship within the topics, subfields, and approaches in international studies. Work published in GSQ offers significant theoretical, epistemological, empirical, or normative contributions to the field. The journal is open to all methodological approaches to questions of international politics, or the intersection of global politics with economy, society, or culture.
Deliberative Democracy
The Journal of Deliberative Democracy (formerly the Journal of Public Deliberation) is an open access journal publishing articles that shape the course of scholarship on deliberative democracy. It is the forum for the latest thinking, emerging debates, alternative perspectives, as well as critical views on deliberation. The journal welcomes submissions from all theoretical and methodological traditions. It aims to be the platform to broker knowledge between scholars and practitioners of citizen engagement.
Political Research Exchange
Open access journal of the European Consortium for Political Research. Innovation in political science, political theory, comparative and international politics.

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4PM to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.