The Mabee-Simpson Library: English: Pro/Con Papers

Databases for Pro and Con Arguments

NewsBank: Access World News-Includes Arkansas Democrat Gazette Historical
Includes current primary news sources from around the world in a full-text collection.
Between our microfilm and digital collection, we have the entire run of The Arkansas Democrat Gazette. The digital collection starts at 1868 and ends at 1991. Then it picks up at 1994 and contains everything until today. The missing years we do have on microfilm. The microfilm collections consists of:
V.1 #1, November 20, 1819 to December 16, 1875
January 1, 1891 to December 1945
January 1, 1987 to December 31, 2011
New York Times
A current, primary source, with full-text coverage of local, national, and foreign news. Its strength is in its editorial excellence. It also contains extensive theater, art, and music reviews.
Proquest Central
Check "editorial" in the document type box and search with your topic.

Websites for Pro and Con. How Do You Judge a Website as Credible?

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4 p.m. to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.