The Mabee-Simpson Library: English: Articles/News

Google Scholar

Google Scholar and our vendors work together to locate the complete document through this library or on the web. Be sure to sign in with your Lyon College email account!

A-Z Complete Database List

A-Z Databases
The A-Z database list is searchable by subject, type, vendor, popular, or new trials. Try ADVANCED SEARCH for these options.

Best Bets for Articles

These databases contains just about every subject under the sun! If you're having trouble finding what you need, stop in to the library or email one of your librarians for help!

Science Direct
Comprises current and archived full-text and abstracts from V. 1, 1823 to the present for the Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, Social Sciences and Humanities, Behavioral Sciences, and the journal titles: Cell, Developmental Cell, and Molecular Cell. The title is misleading because it includes an extensive collection of Social Sciences including the Humanities.
NewsBank: Access World News-Includes Arkansas Democrat Gazette Historical
Includes current primary news sources from around the world in a full-text collection.
Between our microfilm and digital collection, we have the entire run of The Arkansas Democrat Gazette. The digital collection starts at 1868 and ends at 1991. Then it picks up at 1994 and contains everything until today. The missing years we do have on microfilm. The microfilm collections consists of:
V.1 #1, November 20, 1819 to December 16, 1875
January 1, 1891 to December 1945
January 1, 1987 to December 31, 2011
Proquest Central
Brings together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world. It is full-text and some citation/abstract..
Academic Search Elite
Designed to meet every academic researcher's needs in all disciplines, Academic Search Elite provides access to acclaimed full-text scholarly journals and magazines.
JSTOR
Offers complete full-text articles in all subjects and ebooks as well. JSTOR uses a 5 year moving wall meaning that any article older than 5 years from today is full-text on JSTOR. Articles published within 5 years of today are only citation/abstract. All ebooks require no special app and are fully accessible on the web.

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4 p.m. to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.