The Mabee-Simpson Library: English: Databases

Databases for English Literature and Writing

We've curated a list of databases for al of your English research needs. We are always on the lookout for new resources, so be sure to check back regularly.

JSTOR
Offers complete full-text articles in all subjects and ebooks as well. JSTOR uses a 5 year moving wall meaning that any article older than 5 years from today is full-text on JSTOR. Articles published within 5 years of today are only citation/abstract. All ebooks require no special app and are fully accessible on the web.
JSTOR Language & Literature
Offers complete full-text articles in all subjects and ebooks as well. JSTOR uses a 5 year moving wall meaning that any article older than 5 years from today is full-text on JSTOR. Articles published within 5 years of today are only citation/abstract. All ebooks require no special app and are fully accessible on the web.
One Literature (ProQuest)
Primary and critical text database for literary research at all levels. Provides full text access to more than 500,000 works of poetry, drama and prose stretching from the 8th century through the present day, including primary resource collections from diverse and modern authors.
Learning: Literature (ProQuest)
Student resource containing author biographies, contemporary criticism, reviews, and multimedia resources from medieval times to the present.
OED
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
English Literary Renaissance
English Literary Renaissance (ELR) is a leading journal for new research in Tudor and Stuart literature, including the Sidneys, Spenser, Shakespeare, Jonson, Donne, Milton, and their many contemporaries. In addition to critical work, ELR also publishes review essays and occasional editions of short significant manuscripts, such as letters, legal documents with literary relevance, and poetry.
Arkansas State Library
All Arkansas residents have remote access to Traveler resources.
Also, feel free to browse all our databases in our A-Z Guide!

Take Advantage of Open Access

What is Open Access?

For those who don't know Open Access, or OA or Open Education, is a publishing model for scholarly works, like research articles, that makes them freely available online, removing paywalls and other access barriers.

For more info on OA and it's different levels, check out this guide from Johns Hopkins Welch Medical Library.

Open Library of the Humanities
From the site: The Open Library of Humanities is an award-winning open-access publisher of internationally leading academic scholarship. Our mission is to support and extend open access to scholarship in the humanities – for free, for everyone, for ever. Our goal is to liberate university research from commercial control. We believe that scholarship should be academic-led and community-owned.
Neo-Victorian Studies
From the Site: This journal's enterprise is temporally double, staging an encounter between the Victorian and neo-Victorian, between the two periods' aesthetic productions and material works, their discourses, ideologies, and socio-political contexts. It explores themes of modernity, alterity, and evolution through time and place in an ever more globalised and interconnected world. Two ages of literature and the arts reflect and converse with each other, the nineteenth century dreaming into the future, our own present moment reading and re-imagining the past, conjoined in an ever-changing interplay of light and shadows, visibility and obscurity, self and doubled other.
International Journal of English Literature
The International Journal of English and Literature (IJEL) is a peer reviewed open access journal. The journal commenced publication in April 2010.

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4PM to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.