The Mabee-Simpson Library: eBooks and Film Streaming: Citing and Plagarism

Digital Style Guides

These guides will allow you to learn about the specific requirements for your citations and references based on whatever citation style your class is working with. Be sure to check with your professor about their specific formatting requirements as well.

APA citation guide Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides APA style guide in-text citation examples, as well as examples for the References page of a research paper.
APA Free Tutorial for 6th Ed. This is a free Tutorial on the basics of APA style.
Chicago Manual of Style This is a quick reference guide only. See the library's print copy for detailed citing.
MLA citation guide Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides MLA style guide parenthetical citation examples, as well as examples for the Works Cited page of a research paper.
Turabian citation guide This is a Turabian quick guide, please see the library's print copy for detailed information.
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation Bluebook is for the legal community for citing law. You must set up a free account to use it.
ACS: Citing Your Sources This is a quick outline of basic citing for the ACS provided by Williams Libraries.
KnightCite This fill-in-the-blank form (from the Heckman Library at Calvin College) generates MLA, APA, & Chicago bibliographic and in-text citations that can be copied & pasted into your research paper.

Lyon College does not necessarily endorse nor condone content found on third-party websites. Links are provided as a convenience only.

Paper Citation Guides in the Library

It is important to cite your sources to give credit where it is due and to avoid the consequences of plagiarism.

Check with your instructor as to which style format you need to use. The Mabee-Simpson Library has guides for several formatting styles (MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian and others). Listed below are the library's hard copy of style manuals.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: REF BF76.7 .P83 2010
ISBN: 1433805626
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Staff (Editor)
Call Number: REF Z253 .U69 2010
ISBN: 0226104206
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Joseph Gibaldi; Modern Language Association of America Staff
Call Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2009
ISBN: 1603290257
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by)
Call Number: REF LB2369 .T8 2007
ISBN: 0226823377
Publication Date: 2007-04-15
The Bluebook by Harvard Law Review (Compiled by); Columbia Law Review (Compiled by); University of Pennsylvania Law Review (Compiled by); Yale Law Review (Compiled by)
Call Number: REF KF245 .B58 2015
ISBN: 0692400192
Publication Date: 2015-06-25
The ACS Style Guide by Lorrin R. Garson (Editor); Anne M. Coghill (Editor)
Call Number: REF QD8.5 .A25 2006
ISBN: 0841239991
Publication Date: 2006-07-20
The American Chemical Society's Effective Communication of Scientific Information.

Free Plagiarism Checkers

Plug your work into a plagiarism checker to see if you have accidently committed plagiarism. Below are several free packages that are very popular. Lyon College does not necessarily endorse nor condone content found on third-party websites. Links are provided as a convenience only.

Chegg Writing
Turn in your best paper and wipe out plagiarism & grammar errors in your writing.
bibme
Chegg provides this service to check for accidental plagiarism and to get suggestions on grammar and writing style.
Dupli Checker
You don’t have to pay anything. Whether you are a one-time user or plan to make the most of this free plagiarism detection tool on a daily basis, you are not required to pay for subscription. You are presented with a very basic, functional layout that does not require for any previous experience with plagiarism detection tools.
There are 2 Ways To Check For Plagiarism
Duplichecker enables you to either copy and paste your text in the field and then check it for plagiarisms, or upload a Docx or Text file from your computer. You are allowed 50 Plagiarism Scans Per Day For Registered Users.
Quetext
No Subscriptions. Quetext is entirely free.
Unlimited Usage. No account, registration or downloads needed.
Viper
From individual students to lecturers and institutions, Viper is the plagiarism checker of choice for thousands of people every month. Start scanning your work for free or get even more features with Viper Premium!

Diagnosis: Plagiarism

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4 p.m. to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.