The Mabee-Simpson Library: eBooks and Film Streaming: eBooks

Top Picks for eBooks

JSTOR
Offers complete full-text articles in all subjects and ebooks as well. JSTOR uses a 5 year moving wall meaning that any article older than 5 years from today is full-text on JSTOR. Articles published within 5 years of today are only citation/abstract. All ebooks require no special app and are fully accessible on the web.
Ebook Central (Proquest)
Includes credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. Off-campus users may have to authenticate, with Lyon College user ID and password. You will need Adobe Digital Ed., a free download on the web. Mobile devices and tablets will need Blue Fire Reader, at either the App Store or Google Play. An Adobe ID is required for all devices. Download in Epub for better resizing of text. When you download, it will come up in Blue Fire Reader for phones and tablets.
Arkansas Digital Library Consortium
The Arkansas Digital Library Consortium (ADLC) is an open consortium formed to facilitate the acquisition and use of digital content by pooling the buying power of Arkansas public libraries. However, Lyon College members are also welcome to view or listen to the 80,000 plus ebooks, ejournals, and audiobooks. You have to have a library card at an Arkansas public library. Email info@indcolib.com and our Independence County Library will set up your library card!
Give them your name, address, phone number, and college id. They'll set you up with a library card online, and you use your library card id or your cell number to access these books. Be sure to mention you are a member of the Lyon College Community.
This collection is from Overdrive and you can use their handy app called Libby for your devices.

Free Open Access!

Hathi Trust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 53,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP)
The world’s public domain music at your fingertips!

Google Books

If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given Google permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.

Find eBooks Through the Library Catalog

WorldCat Discovery searches for books, media, and articles in our library and nationwide. Try ADVANCED SEARCH for more options. Click here for RESERVES.

How to Use JSTOR, Proquest eBook Central, and Overdrive eBooks

Please get your library card from your public library and try the Arkansas Digital Consortium! They have thousands of Overdrive eBooks and magazines. But you have to get your card so you can use that card number to login.

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4 p.m. to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.