The Mabee-Simpson Library: World Religion or Philosophy: Articles/News

A-Z Complete Database List

A-Z Databases
The A-Z database list is searchable by subject, type, vendor, popular, or new trials. Try ADVANCED SEARCH for these options.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar and our vendors work together to locate the complete document through this library or on the web. Be sure to sign in with your Lyon College email account!

Best Bets for Articles

Here is a list of top databases to find articles within your subject! If you are having trouble navigating a database or finding what you need, stop into the library or email a librarian and we'll be happy to help!

Religion Database
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Academic Search Elite
Designed to meet every academic researcher's needs in all disciplines, Academic Search Elite provides access to acclaimed full-text scholarly journals and magazines.
Project Muse
Contains current, full-text, no embargoed, scholarly Humanities and Social Sciences content. The Social Sciences include economics, anthropology, political science, psychology, and sociology. Humanities include English, History, Geography, Political Science, Psychology and Sociology.
JSTOR
Offers complete full-text articles in all subjects and ebooks as well. JSTOR uses a 5 year moving wall meaning that any article older than 5 years from today is full-text on JSTOR. Articles published within 5 years of today are only citation/abstract. All ebooks require no special app and are fully accessible on the web.
Proquest Central
Brings together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world. It is full-text and some citation/abstract..
A to Z World Maps
Provides proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included are: political, physical, outline, population, precipitation, climate, and other thematic maps.

Hours and Support

Semester Hours

Sunday: 4 p.m. to Midnight
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to Midnight
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday: Closed

Ask The Librarian

Off-Campus Access

How Do I Login?

When off-campus, if you are a Lyon College student, faculty, or staff member, you can use your Lyon user ID (first.last@lyon.edu) and your password to login when an authentication screen pops up during your use of a library database or other online service. You only have to do this once a session.

Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.

Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.

If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact support@lyon.edu.

World Religion or Philosophy: Articles/News