Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start Your Search Here
WorldCat Discovery Search Box
WorldCat Discovery searches for books, media, and articles in our library and nationwide.
Try ADVANCED SEARCH for more options. Want to find a certain eJournal title? Try our Journal Finder.
Browse the Book Section
Library of Congress Call Numbers
If you are the hands on, tactile sort, find books in the library by using the call numbers. For instance, B stands for philosophy, BL stands for religion, etc. Check out this link to find your subject call numbers or get a break down of where your materials are below.
Online Reference or Background Books
Oxford English Dictionary
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
American National Biography
Discover biographies of more than 19,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped American history and culture.
Worldbook- Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video. The time-lines are very helpful for historical research.
Paper Reference or Background Books
Religions of the World by
Call Number: ReferenceBL80.3 .R45 2002
Publication Date: 2002-12-28
From the Aboriginal Cult of Maria Lionza in Venezuela to Zionist and Apostolic churches in South Africa and Zimbabwe, this title provides a comprehensive, A-Z compilation of the world's presently existing major religious communities.
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books. If Google is asking for a price, please ask our librarian first if we can get it for you through interlibrary loan, for free!
A-Z Complete Database List
The A-Z list provides a complete list of the library's databases, which can be sorted by subject, item type, title, popular, or new additions. This includes paper books, ebooks, digital and paper articles, but frankly, mostly digital and mostly full-text.
Hours, Social Media, Contact Information
Library Hours 2020-21
Open 8 to 5 Monday thru Friday and
Closed Weekends Until February 4.
Hours for Spring Semester 2021
Starting February 2
Sunday 6 p.m. to Midnight
Monday - Thursday 8 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Ask The Librarian
2300 Highland Road
Batesville, AR 72501
How Do I Login?
When off-campus, Lyon College faculty, staff, and students please use your Lyon user ID of: firstname.lastname@example.org and your password to login. You no longer have to use RDS to log in. Find your browser, your web page, your database, search the database, and when the authentication screen pops up, use your student ID and password. You only have to do this once a session.
Community members who have purchased a card can use the databases in the library building but not remotely.
Having issues logging in? Clear your cache (CTRL + SHIFT + DEL) and try again.
If you have problems accessing the databases please call Lyon support at: 870-307-7555 or contact email@example.com.
2300 HIGHLAND ROAD • BATESVILLE, ARKANSAS 72501 • PHONE: (870-307-7205) • FAX: (870) 307-7279